Skip to content

Goodbye figure competitor Carmen

July 19, 2012

Well, that’s it. I’m no longer figure competitor Carmen. Looking back on competing I’m glad I did it, I met some great people through it, it taught me a lot about myself and really showed me I can accomplish any goal I put my mind to.

So, you may be wondering what’s in store for me next. For the past two months I’ve gotten back into running and I’m really enjoying it. I don’t feel like I’m doing cardio like I did when I was dieting down. I’m back to the place where going for a run is my me time if I’m running alone, or chat time if I’m running with a partner.

What got me back into it was so simple. It started with a Facebook post by a friend. She had just run a set of stairs in the city where we live. I used to run those once a week when I was training for races in the past. They are killer, but effective. I commented on her status telling her to let me know the next time she was going so I could tag along. And that was it. I went and was reminded of how much I liked it, and missed it.

But, I won’t lie, getting started again and rebuilding my base sucked and was disheartening at times. From August 2011 to the end of April 2012 I did maybe 60 minutes of cardio a week and some weeks I did none. Taking that break was the best thing I could have done for my body, considering how beat down it was from competing, but it was hard going from incredible conditioning back to nothing. I found this picture in my phone from when I was dieting last year. I decided to do running intervals on the treadmill one day after getting sick of the elliptical and look at what I pulled off.

Fast forward to April 2012, it took me 60 minutes to run my first 10km run of the season, which isn’t bad, but is 10 minutes slower than that previous time. I ran my second in 55 minutes and it was HARD. I had to keep reminding myself it would come, I would get my base back and be back to running fast. Well finally in the past couple of weeks my base has come back and I’m feeling awesome on long runs and shorter tempo runs.

Since I’m very goal-orientated, shortly after going to back running I set a goal for myself, which I’ll elaborate on next post J

Since, I’m no longer figure competitor Carmen I’ve created a new blog to share my upcoming journey.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

