Skip to content

Changes

May 17, 2012

So much has changed since my last update. I quit working with the trainer I had hired, took a month off weight training and cut down my meals from six a day to three larger ones.

In the first week of April I decided what I was doing wasn’t working for me. I wasn’t dieting for a show, so why was I being so strict about measuring/weighing every single piece of food I was eating. It was driving me crazy. From my perspective I think I should be able to eat all the vegetables I want in a day without measuring them. Like come on. I doubt I’ll gain weight if I eat unlimited lettuce, spinach, green beans, cucumbers, peppers and sugar snap peas. And second there are only so many vegetables I can eat in a day without feeling gross.

 Same thing with fruit. If I’m out at an event and eat a couple of pieces of fruit and some veggies I shouldn’t feel like oh I messed up my diet, so now I better eat a whole bunch of junk because I messed it up anyways so I might as well eat some of the other foods I’m not allowed to have and then overeat and tell myself as of tomorrow I’ll be back to following my diet perfectly and getting in all my workouts. That’s no way to live.

After doing a lot of soul searching, I decided that was it. No more stressing out about food. As long as I eat the healthy nutritious foods my body needs, I’ll be fine. I know enough about nutrition and how my body reacts to things that I’m fully of capable of doing my own thing. I don’t need someone else to tell me what to eat. 

As part of my process I wanted to get over wanting the “forbidden” foods that had seemed so tempting while strictly following a plan. So for the first week of April I decided I would have a treat every single day that week. These included frozen yogurt, cupcakes, cosmic cookies from Planet Organic and Booster Juice smoothies. With having a treat every day I didn’t feel the need to overdo it. I had my treat and that was it. By the end of the week I was over it. Sugary foods aren’t that amazing and I truly do feel better when I eat healthy.

After my week of treats the next phase was to eliminate weight training for a month and do three to four yoga classes a week. I went to a local yoga studio and bought a month unlimited pass so I was obligated to go. For the rest of the month I did my yoga classes and two spin classes a week. Spin is an hour long, but I only wanted to do 30 minutes so I would leave each class halfway through. I kind of felt like a jerk, but I just didn’t want to do that much cardio. For the month of April I also didn’t weigh/measure my food for the most part. The only thing I measured was oats and peanut butter because those are easy to overdo.

Low and behold at the end of the month I hadn’t gained any weight and was at the same place body wise I was at the start. Go figure. And my body felt the best it has in a couple years from all the yoga classes. And the biggest thing of all was I was way happier. By having three bigger meals I actually felt satisfied after eating. That was the biggest problem for me with six, I always felt kind of hungry and never satisfied, which would lead to me pigging out on junk. By changing things up I no longer felt like this.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Selena permalink
    May 18, 2012 5:58 am

    I’m so happy that you found a balance in your life. I know that changing my meal amounts has helped me in so many ways. I also think that letting go of the goal of stepping on stage has helped me relax too. I’m not worried if I miss a workout or don’t get enough protein, I just need to be healthy.

  2. July 10, 2012 1:14 pm

    i’m currently training for my first show in sept this year and i often wonder about how my relationship with food will be affected after this journey. OH how i miss indulging…and after a month straight with no processed food or cheat meals i can’t believe i haven’t completely cracked yet. thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

