Skip to content

Much too long

November 8, 2011

Wow, it’s been way too long since I’ve posted in here. I was
really busy over the past couple months and put writing to the side, but now
that everything has been getting back under control it’s time to start writing
again.

Training front

I was doing great with training until September, then I hit
a rut where I didn’t feel like going to the gym (strange, I know) so I spent a
month slacking off and going maybe two to three times a week. I think that rut
was due to some stuff I had going on in my life that completely drained me
emotionally and mentally and that led to me slacking off.  Thankfully that’s all dealt with now and is a
thing of the past.  I finally started
getting back into the groove a couple weeks ago and I feel 100 times better.

I’m also hiring a new trainer to do my diet and workout
program and can’t wait to get started. I thought I was going to have to wait
until mid-January, but I completely lucked out and get to start this month and
I can’t wait.  I’ll have a good five to
six weeks before Christmas to bust my butt and I can’t wait to see how my body
changes with my new program. It will be different then the programs I have
followed before. I was looking for something more sustainable than what I was
doing in the past and that’s why I chose the trainer I did. The previous
trainer had me eating a total of a ¼ cup of starchy carbs a day for at least
four weeks while doing six hours of cardio a week, in addition to five weight
training sessions a week. Now that I’ve taken a step back I realize that’s just
stupidity. Yes, I have to eat clean to lose weight, and yes, I have to be
consistent and disciplined with my training to get ready for a show, but I
think there’s a point where going to that extreme is going to hurt my body in the
end. Don’t get me wrong, I know dieting down for a competition is “extreme”,
but I want to do it in the healthiest way possible.

I also want to work with a trainer who is going to be
straight up with me. I did everything my last trainer said to do as I was
dieting down and I wasn’t nearly lean enough. I would rather have a trainer who
says you’re not ready vs. one who says I look great the whole time, when in
reality I’m not at the point I should be.  I can’t wait to start this new journey. My
game plan is to spend the next six to 12 months in off-season mode and once I
hit that point in time I may (will most likely) consider
competing again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 12:46 am

    great post. looking forward to following your progress. keep us updated! 1/4 cup starchy carbs?? eeeekkk that would just make me grumpy as hell and not get enough out of my workouts!! good luck!!!

    • November 19, 2011 11:47 am

      Thanks! I will for sure, my goal is to start posting more frequent updates. Yeah, it was a little low, somehow I did it, not quite sure how though…

  2. November 11, 2011 9:20 am

    So who are you training with now? I want details!! 😀

Leave a Reply

