Skip to content

Enjoying the journey

February 9, 2011

Well it’s official. I’m back into contest prep mode! Except this year I’m taking a completely different attitude towards my contest prep. In the past I was on a countdown from day one of the diet until show day. This offseason I realized that isn’t the best way for me to do things for the following reasons:
1.       It stresses me out and I question whether I will be ready in time and it leads to me sabotaging myself in some way.
2.       I end up focusing more on the destination than the journey.
3.       I start living my life on a countdown, instead of enjoying each and every day.
 
Yes, prep can feel a bit draining and long at times, but I can’t spend parts of my life wishing for time to go by faster so I hit my goal quicker. Dieting is a process and if I’m going to compete I must enjoy the process, otherwise what is the point.
 
This year this is my game plan consists of:
1.       Giving each and every workout my all.
2.       Eating the way my trainer tells me to eat every day.
3.       Giving each cardio session my all.
4.       Still making time for other activities a couple times a week.
5.       Enjoying the process and doing what my trainer tells me to do. If I trust her and do what she says I will get there.

No comments yet

Leave a comment